Home > Accounting & Bookkeeping > Quickbooks™ Clean Up Company Data Utility

Quickbooks™ Clean Up Company Data Utility

The Quickbooks ™ Clean Up Company Data Utility condenses closed transactions into summary journal entries and removes unused list elements. It creates a journal entry for each month in the selected period and the summary journal entries affect your accounts in exactly the same way as did the detail transactions.

We seldom recommend running the Clean Up Company Data Utility. If you have data damage in your company file, the Clean Up Company Data can make the damage impossible to repair. If this happens, you only have two options. Restore the back up that you made when you ran the Clean Up Company Data Utility or create a new company file.

 The Clean Up Company Data cannot be undone

Be very sure that running the Clean Up Company Data is your best option and that the time and effort you put into it will be repaid by future cost savings. Please do not run the Clean Up Company Data just because you can. You need to have a really good reason to run it.

 Run the Clean Up Company Data if and only if:

  1. Your company file is so large that it slows QuickBooks’ performance. There is no limit on the size of your company data file, but smaller files run faster than larger files.
  2. You are bumping up against a hard limit. The hard limits in QuickBooks™ include:
    1. Maximum number of accounts or classes = 10,000.
    2. Maximum number of names or items = 14,500 (except in QuickBooks Enterprise).
    3. Maximum number of rows exported to a CSV file = 32,768.
  3. You have done all of the economical hardware upgrades. You can add a new server to your network to increase QuickBooks’ performance, but if you cannot afford the expense, then your best economical option may be to run the Clean Up Company Data .
  4. You have consulted your accountant and technical support and discussed other options, including increasing resources and starting a new company file.

Affects of the Cleanup Up Company Data on the size of your company file

We cannot predict how the Clean Up Company Data will affect the size of your company file because of the many factors involved: If you use inventory items, very few transactions will be condensed, your lists will not be reduced and we expect that size of your file not change much at all. If a lot of transactions are condensed, you may lose a lot of customers from your list which could decrease the file size substantially. 

The Clean Up Company Data wizard creates an archive copy of your company file before any transactions are removed. The archive filename will contain the date you run the cleanup process, your company name, and the label “Archive Copy.”

Important: The archive copy is read-only; you cannot use it for data entry.

How to use the archive Copy:

This is a copy of your company file as it was before you removed transactions. You can use the archive copy to view data or run reports for those periods in which transactions have already been removed.

Do not depend on the archive copy to restore a data file in case you have a problem with your system. You should always restore from the backup, not the archive copy.

If QuickBooks™ encounters an error while cleaning up the company file, it will automatically restore your data file from the archive. In such situations, no archive copy is retained.

If the cleanup process completes successfully, the archive copy and the cleaned-up company file co-exist on your disk. If you want to keep a separate archive in another location, you must back up the archive file in a separate backup process.

Note: As with any two different company files, only one can be open at any time on a single machine. You cannot open both the archive and the cleaned-up copy of your company file.

Comments ( 0 )
  1. No comments yet.
Comments are currently closed.
Trackbacks & Pingbacks ( 0 )
  1. No trackbacks yet.
  2. Trackbacks are currently closed.